Poems

Stubbornness you can trust

My mum
And my dog
May be half the souls
They once were

Perhaps even
Less than half
Now

But having these fractions of them here
Completes me
Just enough

They suffer so much at times
But their stubbornness for joy
Whenever and wherever they can find it
This prideless stubbornness
Stubbornness not borne out of any effort to impress
Just souls being too childlike
To know
How to care
What anyone thinks of them

Stubbornness meaning that much more
For its ignorance

Stubbornness that has nothing to do with trying to be victorious
Or winning admiration

Stubbornness
Being stubbornness alone
Being spirit
Being honesty
Being truth
Being Nature
Being a better part of this universe

That same stubbornness
With which Music has forever greeted me

That stubbornness
That is reliable
That stubbornness
You can trust

It is no wonder
These two souls
Have been dearest to me
For they have only ever
Stubbornly
Been themselves

Thank you Neelie and Abu