Thoughts

I take back what I said about locals “not caring”

Not too long ago, I suffered from some kind of fever, and at the time, feeling sorry for myself, I wrote some post on this site about having a realisation that locals and people who make smalltalk with me when I walk Abu don’t really care. 

I’ve been meaning to write something for a few days now to take that back.

At the time I wrote that post I was feeling weak and alone. It was not the fault of all those lovely people who make me feel appreciated when they say hi on Abu’s walks.

And I talked with some of them today and sensed they do care. They’re good people.

I was just ill and feeling sorry for myself. I suppose I was scared, because I felt so weak, and I realised there was no one I could ask for help.

Granted, there was some lesson to be gained from that experience, as when I was so weak, and so alone, it brought home how vulnerable I’ve become in life.

I hope one day I’ll have friends I can call family.