Photo of a crucifix made up of red neon lights.
Music

‘Protocol’ – INTRO IDEA – Track info

Credits

Vocals, Music, Lyrics, Production & Rough Mix by Lyna Galliara

Track status

Unfinished and unreleased. This is a potential intro idea for my track ‘Protocol’, a short track that I created and made available to download last year. I’m now thinking about turning ‘Protocol’ into a full length track, with this audio serving as part of its intro.

Lyrics

If you are afraid of letting go
Choose someone for your soul
Choose somebody you know
Choose one who makes you whole

You don’t need
To receive
Anything
Less than that

If you are afraid of letting go
Choose somebody who knows
What makes you rock and roll
To keep away the cold

You don’t need
To receive
Anything
Less than that

Track notes

Last week I created this as a potential intro for a short track I made and shared online last year called ‘Protocol’. The reason I want to go back to that track, in terms of lengthening it, is because in recent weeks, a music video idea for the track has come to me, that I feel would work better with a longer track.

As ‘Protocol’ is about letting go of one’s inhibitions, the idea behind this intro is to ensure that the overall message of the track is one of celebrating ‘letting go’ with someone you trust and respect, as one obviously must take care when choosing who they can be at their most vulnerable with, in order to reduce the risks of feeling used or hurt by the experience. Granted, I speak as someone who’s never experienced ‘letting go’ in the sense I refer to in the track ‘Protocol’ – i.e. being intimate with someone – but I suppose this is nothing new, when it comes to my music making process, given that all of the music I’ve made about love has equally been inspired by ideals instead of experiences too.

As had been the case with the another music idea I recently shared for a track called ‘Territory’, I again hesitated to share this music idea online, because of my having failed to deliver a completed music project in such a long time now. I wondered whether the act of letting myself share these snippets had become indulgent, providing me with sufficient brief sources of fulfilment to encourage continued delays in the completion of my music projects. However, I’ve concluded that it’s okay for me to celebrate my music making by sharing these snippets, given the many years of my depression during which I denied myself any engagement in music making activities at all.

To repeat what I wrote about the subject in the post previewing a snippet of ‘Territory’: I want to show the world that I’m trying at life again, by making music again. I know I should feel proud of that, and that I should celebrate that.

And as I said in that post too: I still feel tremendous guilt for not finishing projects more frequently, but I will keep trying.

 This snippet forms part of my 2022 MacBook mic recording series.

Photo of a crucifix made up of red neon lights.
Image credit: Photo by William Mattey from Pexels.