Thoughts

Hoping to get back to the music within a week or two

A photo of a small black and white dog looking at the camera from over a laptop screen. The laptop screen displays a list of folders titled according to various hours and days between the 29th of December 2020 and the 1st January 2021.
Abu checking on my progress.

The above photo is from around this time last year when – as you can see – I was doing a much better job of working at my music than I have been lately. I remember it feeling so good, to be working so intensely on my music, as the year turned 2021. I’d excitedly been expending my efforts in the making of a track called ‘The End’ – a track I’ve still to share with you.

I’d hoped to start 2022 with the same energy I’d started 2021, but I’ve been continuing to allow myself time to rest following the skull fracture I sustained from my fall on the 30th of December.

Along with pain at the fracture site itself, and along my jaw, I’ve also been suffering from headaches, and aches in my back and ribs, all from this latest fall, so I’m taking it easy on the music front for a bit.

Granted, I’ve been letting myself share many a random thought that’s come to me whilst I rest! I hope that this recent surge in ‘epiphanies’ isn’t in any way connected with my having hitting my head pretty hard!

I think I just want to wait a little while longer before getting back to the music, because I know that when I’m in music making mode I tend to get very intense, and the medical advice is to rest the mind after suffering from mild traumatic brain injury. And yes, those other aches I mentioned haven’t been fun and I’d expect the discomfort to impair my ability to concentrate to some extent. Having said that, of course I don’t intend to wait for all my pains to completely disappear before I return to music making – I hope that I’ll return to it within a week or two at most.

In the meantime I shall try not to share too many additional epiphanies!

But yes, as mentioned in the excited post I shared – immediately prior to my fall! – the plan is to next share the music video of my cover of ‘On The Street Where You Live’, that stunningly dreamy, timeless, magical, soaring melody from the musical ‘My Fair Lady’.

Hope you stick around for it.

A photo of a woman in a wedding dress and a man in a suit, standing next to each other, facing away from us, looking out of a derelict building that they are standing in. The area surrounding the building - that they are looking at - is full of scrap materials.
Artwork for ‘On The Street Where You Live’. Image credit: A still from footage filmed by CottonBro production company. Still taken and edited by Lyna Galliara. Text added by Lyna Galliara.