A photo of a woman in a wedding dress and a man in a suit, standing next to each other, facing away from us, looking out of a derelict building that they are standing in. The area surrounding the building - that they are looking at - is full of scrap materials.
Thoughts

Returning to my cover of ‘On The Street Where You Live’

I’ve just finally plucked up the courage to reopen the track and video files I made in early June of this year for my cover of ‘On The Street Where You Live’. Wow. My brain is frazzled. THERE I AM! In THAT music! In THAT music video’s beautiful intensity! That’s my spirit right THERE!

The second half of this year was horrible, I lost myself in the midst of meltdown after meltdown. I hope I can get back to what I had in the first half. I’d been getting back some of the magic I’d had before my accident. (Though of course, please pretend I didn’t make my unquestionably naff track ‘Beautiful Star’ when I describe this period of magical music making! I know that track is naff, it’s just endeared itself to me too much for me to take it offline, even though I know I should have done so the very moment the full extent of its naffness became apparent to me – upon its publication. Then again, I feel like I shouldn’t disown the child even though it did turn out odd and naff. Anyway… that’s enough about ‘Beautiful Star’… I must really stop reminding people of the existence of that odd naff child!)

Anyway, I feel proud of myself for having finally had the courage to open up the files again after so long, knowing that feelings of guilt for not having yet completed the track, and for having neglected my gift, would hurt. Knowing I would feel intimidated by what I’d made, when it comes to thoughts of now trying to finally complete the track’s mix.

It’s just a short track, but its music and video have such a powerful affect on me. I’m so grateful when I’m reminded, in moments like these, that music can still have a powerful affect on me, despite how emotionally numb I tend to think depression has left me.

It means all the more that it’s my music that’s had this affect on me. Or to be more correct, at least in this case, my musical arrangement of someone else’s song – given that it’s a cover. Either way, I’m feeling grateful to find myself as affected by my production as I remember being when I first created it. Granted that at the same time, I’m feeling idiotic for having so hideously neglected my gift, and in particular, projects like these, for over six months now.

I hope to share this track and video with you next. I think the mix is actually ok as it is, but I need to choose between the many vocal takes I recorded for the track. Hope I don’t mess around with the mix too much and upset its current lovely, deep, intense, wild, warm, roughness. I was genuinely describing the track there, but having written that down it sounds like something out of a bad novel-of-the-night. Although now that I think about it, it’s also a very wet mix.

So looking forward to sharing this track and video with you! It’s basically where I left off this year, in terms of my music making.

In the meantime, here’s some artwork I made for the track that – as had been the case for the track and video themselves – I also made way back in June.

A photo of a woman in a wedding dress and a man in a suit, standing next to each other, facing away from us, looking out of a derelict building that they are standing in. The area surrounding the building - that they are looking at - is full of scrap materials.
Artwork for ‘On The Street Where You Live’. Image credit: A still from footage filmed by CottonBro production company. Still taken and edited by Lyna Galliara. Text added by Lyna Galliara.